Writing 4 (blog posts) for Crit 3

1) CRITIQUE – Post images of your work. Provide insights that allow the view to understand what happened in the last critique. How you have processed that information and how you are making your work now. Include images, sketches, references, etc. 

During the last crit, I brought in some unfinished work to get feedback on. It was pointed out to me it was missing a key part, my personality. I didn’t even realize it. So since then, I’ve been trying to work on getting my personality to show through in my work.

I’ve been working on a sculpture that will continue on my idea of this octopus sculpture that I brought in.

image

So far, I have a good start on it. It’s got most of its height already, but it’s going to be around 4.5 feet tall.  Li-Linn pointed out that a monumental scale would really add to this if  I were to continue the series, so that is what I am going to do with it. Here are a few work in progress pictures.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I made the eyes for this project out of sculpy. This last picture is a finished picture of them.

image

image

The inspiration sketch for this piece is below.

image

Essentially it is an octopus with a vertical mouth. Just like the treble clef octopus, it was just something from inside my head. I am also working on a mixed media flat work of the same idea/sketch.

image

image

image

I haven’t quite figured it out completely yet, but  I do know I plan on making this a piece that I can hang on the wall. I want to make a giant textile that will appear as if it’s coming of of the wall behind the center of the work,  I love hanging sculptures. They are just so much fun.

2) ARTIST POST – Select a new person from your critique group to blog post about. 

The person I selected is Mattie Parrigon. Her works consist of watercolor illustrations. One thing I really admire about Mattie’s work is the technique. Her watercolor is wonderful. I look and just wonder how she could do that with such a medium. She’s been focusing on things she loves in Pittsburg. She shared pictures of donuts and pool tables, etc for the first 2 crits, which were beautifully done, but that was all I saw in them. Beautiful technique. This new set of illustrations she posted today are a bit different though. She posted a picture for a series of her boyfriend. 

image

I think she really made her passion and a personality come through on this one. The only comment I have to make about this one, is that her proportions are off a bit, especially  on the arms, but the coloring is beautifully done. I like her style. It is quite interesting to look at. I enjoy the fact that she incorporates word into her pieces.

Leave a comment